Hair

Hair and mental health. ” I feel like pulling my hair out “. I did once, well not exactly, but I cut it all off with nail scissors. Not recently but in the past I have felt that my hair was too big a weight to carry, annoying, feeling ever aware of it. I also pull my hair out by the strand, a bit like nail biting, an activity I subconsciously engage in when anxious. I used to twiddle my hair when I was very little, I still do now if it gets too long,  and I also brush it against my lips.

There is a name for this -trichotillomania.

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/trichotillomania/Pages/introduction.aspx

Introduction

Trichotillomania is a condition where a person feels compelled to pull their hair out.

They may pull out the hair on their head or in other places, such as their eyebrows or eyelashes.

Trichotillomania is an impulse-control disorder, a psychological condition where the person is unable to stop themselves carrying out a particular action.

They will experience an intense urge to pull their hair out and growing tension until they do. After pulling out hair, they’ll feel a sense of relief. Pulling out hair on the head leaves bald patches.

Trichotillomania can cause negative feelings, such as guilt. The person may also feel embarrassed or ashamed about pulling their hair out, and may try to deny it or cover it up. Sometimes trichotillomania can make the person feel unattractive and can lead to low self-esteem.

Impulse-control disorders are more common among teenagers and young adults. Trichotillomania tends to affect girls more than boys.

untitled-article-1455633724-body-image-1455640826

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2007/feb/20/gender.music

But in women it’s seen as being out of control because it’s outside the normal distribution of hair behaviour.” In other words, baldness is still relatively rare in women, and is generally treated as a sign of crisis or stress – or if it is known to be self-inflicted, a sign of madness.

Leave a Reply

